FREE TRAINING

WHAT CAUSES BIG BULGES AND AIR BUBBLES ON THE SURFACE OF YOUR BUTTERCREAM CAKE?

Buttercream Cake Mastery

Learn my Cake Smarter, Not Harder®️ system for making modern buttercream cakes.

This online course helps you save time dramatically while achieving beautiful results.

Implement my efficient system

Create cakes that WOW even yourself!

Implement my efficient system and 

You'll make cakes like these

with ease

Blue watercolour cake with greenery and white chocolate sail
Two tone concrete cake with flowers
Pink watercolour cake with flowers
square concrete cake with blue isomalt decorations

Which are

you?

A mama wanting to make her kids' birthday cakes

And in turn save hundreds of dollars on buying custom designed cakes every year. Also, this could be Dad too!

A hobbyist seeking a creative outlet

You make cakes to unwind, express yourself, feel a sense of achievement and let’s be honest, the oohs and ahhs from friends and family feel great too!

An aspiring entrepreneur aiming to start a cake business

You’ve got a full time job but would love to start a side hustle selling cakes, which hopefully will turn into a full time gig one day. 

A cake biz owner looking to upskill to command higher prices

You’re running a cake biz but feel that your skills and cake making system isn’t refined enough to command higher prices and become profitable.

Read the raving

Reviews

There're a lot of 'i wish I did this sooner!'

Reviews

5.0
5.0 out of 5 stars (based on 535 reviews)
Excellent97%
Very good3%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Excellent value for money

April 24, 2024

I took buttercream cake mastery as a hobby baker with aspirations of starting to sell my cakes. The information in this course is second to none. Everything is explained and you are given the “why” behind everything you’re told to do. The techniques are simple and can be implemented right away. And the 4 step process of making cakes just makes so much sense! I’ve attached a photo of the very first cake I made after taking this course. It was a carrot cake for Easter. It’s not perfect, but I’m proud!

Tami Eyre

Well worth it!

October 11, 2023

I’ve been baking and decorating for a long time but the tips & techniques in this course have really helped me with my ability to decorate faster and the final

Product is much better!

R Berry

Phenomenal!!!

October 6, 2023

Signing up to the dtc course started with the buttercream mastery claSS . It was so good i had to sign up for the Versatile baker class and i’ve been mind blown. My baking business has taking a turn for the better as I’ve learned so much about efficiency and time management . The recipes are unbelievably so goodddd ..

Mesoma Cake By M.A.C

The best of the best!

October 5, 2023

I’m a busy mommy of 4 and I love baking. Making a tall cake is my always go to cake especially for my boys’ birthday party. Buttercream Cake Mastery helps me made a creation that always amazed my family and friends. It is indeed , the best of the best ! Looking forward to learn more from the course! Thank you Thao!

Malou

An Amazing Transformation

October 3, 2023

I love baking and creating. Buttercream Mastery has truly elevated my cake design skills. I can now create my cakes efficiently and effectively. No more wasting time on other online resources. Thanks to the effective methods in the course, I can now streamline my time to create beautiful and tasty cakes. I am looking forward to learning much more from the course.

Lydya

Best Investment I’ve made in my business yet

October 2, 2023

I am a bit of a course junkie and have spent more time & money on courses (pertaining to all aspects of running a business) than I want to admit. Some have been worth it but mostly not. Due to certain past experiences in learning online, I was holding back from enrolling in Buttercream Cake Mastery. I gave in eventually and boy am I glad! The extent of detail that Thao goes into in the tutorials and the support that is available is next to none. I was skeptical that it’s an online course and might not be as effective as a face-to-face one. However, now I feel like it’s a lot more effective than an in person class would have been because the tutorials/videos/written resources are so detailed (and handy) that it’s almost fool proof if you can follow instructions to the T. My caking skills have jumped ten fold in just weeks and so much more confident with my designs and flavours now. Cannot recommend this course enough if you want to be a confident caker who works with buttercream.

Priyanka Baruah

SUCCESSFUL STUDENTS
0
5 STAR REVIEWS
0 %
BEAUTIFUL CAKES MADE
0 +

Getting started is

easy!

Stop wasting money buying random guides & recipes that don't work together!

Pay once for lifetime access

$489

$699

AUD

Approx $327 USD

PRICES IN AUD   |   SECURELY PAY WITH

Here comes

The other stuff you'd wanna know

WHAT YOU'LL LEARN INSIDE BUTTERCREAM CAKE MASTERY

My efficient 4-step

system

Step 1: ORGANISE

Creative makers tend to focus on the physical side of the creation process but don’t have any clear idea about what they really want out of it long term, or have any tangible strategy to get there. This step seeks to solve that problem by helping you set up correctly from the get-go.

Step 2: STANDARDISE

This step focuses on implementing standardisations throughout the cake-making system in order to achieve reliable and consistent results, every time. This is where you learn to dramatically cut down your time in the kitchen by adopting our extremely efficient recipes and methods.

Step 3: CREATE

Let the fun begin. Learn everything you need to know about the cake creation process, the DTC way. That means quick, simple and fun!

Step 4: DECORATE

The best part about cake-making, cake decorations! All the hard work leads to this, where you can dress your cake in all the cool edible things and watch your vision come to life!

BONUSES

Recipes, charts, ratios, all the done-for-you things to make your cake making life hassle-free. 

THE USUAL

Frequently Asked Questions

You will need some basic cake making equipment if you don’t already have them. These are: a stand-mixer, a cake turntable, a cake scraper and offset spatulas. Inside the course, we give you a list of tools, equipment and supplies we recommend, including budget & investment options as well as what not to waste your $$ on. You can start slow, and build up your investment of tools as you go. 

The course contains video, presentations and written materials that have been thoroughly prepared for you to be able to consume in your own time. There is no live aspect to the course except the support. When you ask a question in the course or in the FB group, you’ll get an answer from Thao and other fellow students in real time. 

You can enroll now to take advantage of the limited time offer and start the course whenever you’re ready. It is a self-paced course, which means you can go through it at a pace that suits YOU. The plus side is, it doesn’t matter when you do the course, your access to lifetime support is there when you need it. 

DTC cakes are similar in texture to butter or pound cakes, somewhere in the middle between a sponge and a mud cake. They are not too heavily dense nor too light, a perfect structure to team with buttercream.

At DTC, nothing is just a recipe. Vanilla cake recipes are aplenty on the Internet. What makes ours special is the fact that it forms the basis for a whole entire baking system. If the vanilla cake on its own is a 10, the whole DTC baking system is a 100. Everything we teach form a cohesive system that are designed to give you ‘long term’ success. For this reason, the DTC Vanilla Cake isn’t available as a standalone recipe. 

However, if you would like to try one of our cake recipes, check out The Perfect Chocolate Cake. 

The vanilla cake recipe is the same in both courses. However, The Versatile Baker goes into much more depth about the recipe itself in terms of purpose, adaptability and flavour-making system. Think of Buttercream Cake Mastery as your one stop shop to learn about how to make a modern buttercream cake from start to finish and The Versatile Baker as a more specialised study about baking and flavour-making.

The DTC buttercream recipe is our unique recipe, based from a French buttercream recipe and uses whole eggs. The techniques taught in this course can be applied with Italian meringue and Swiss Meringue buttercream for comparable results. 

Similar to the DTC Vanilla cake recipe, our DTC buttercream recipe, although extremely silky and delicious, isn’t just a recipe. It forms part of an entire buttercream cake making system. Having the recipe alone won’t give you the long-term, lasting results you deserve. You need our whole buttercream system for that. 

Buttercream Cake Mastery helps you build the right modern buttercream cake-making foundation. It is an A-Z course that covers baking as one of its modules (DTC vanilla cake recipe included). However, The Versatile Baker goes into a lot more depth regarding the science behind the baking process and the DTC baking system. The only overlapping information between the two courses are the DTC Vanilla Cake recipe and some basic baking knowledge.

For a comprehensive comparison of the two courses, click here.

Our team has worked extremely hard to ensure that the content included in this course is as detailed and beneficial to as many people as possible. However, we do understand that everyone’s learning style is different. This is why we offer a 7-Day Money Back Guarantee. You can take a look around the course, check out our PDFs and videos to familiarise yourself with our teaching method. If you decide that this course isn’t for you, just send us an email within 7 days of purchasing the course. We will ask you to complete a short questionnaire and then process your refund.  Simple as that!

Yes, you will! For more on Certificates, click here.

Scroll down

for more student results

Meet the BCM

Alumnis

THESE BCM STUDENTS HAVE MADE LEAPS AND BOUNDS IN PROGRESS OVER THE YEARS SINCE TAKING THE COURSE. READ ABOUT THEIR STORIES BELOW

Kat Medrzejewski

Armed with a strong foundation of cake skills acquired from Buttercream Cake Mastery, Kat started Halo & Horns as a side hustle in 2019 while working full-time as a teacher. Currently, she manages her successful cake business alongside a part-time primary teaching role. With dedication and continuous effort, Kat and Halo & Horns have grown to amass over 22K followers on Instagram.

Alanna Holmes from Colour Me Cake
Alanna Holmes

During a heavy and dark time for her family, Alanna started baking pastries and homestyle cakes as a hobby to focus her energy on something more creative and less stressful. After doing an in-person cake decorating workshop which wasn’t her style, Alanna went looking online and found Buttercream Cake Mastery.

Fast forward to 2023, her home based cake business which she started in 2019, Colour Me Cakes, has turned into a full time cake business which has a beautiful studio location in Geelong, Victoria, Australia. 

Jeannine Nguyen from Sprinkle Happiness Cakes
Jeannine Nguyen

Jeannine has a background in Architecture and works as a project manager in the Architectural Technology sector. She uses cake design as an outlet to be creative and bring happiness to others. It helps her balance things and because of it, she’s better at her day job.

Jeannine currently balances her family,  full time job, travelling and making the most architecturally beautiful cakes for Sprinkle Happiness Cakes when she finds the time. 

Hey, I get it.

I understand how hard it is to learn on your own.

I did the same thing ten years ago, teaching myself how to make cakes from watching Youtube & scrolling cake blogs. I wasted years making many mistakes I could have easily avoided if someone had just told me. It took me 3 years to master buttercream cakes and become an internationally recognised cake artist. But it doesn’t have to take that long for you.

I’m now on a mission to help 1 million buttercream cake makers all over the world Cake Smarter, Not Harder®  so they can put time back in their day for creativity and growth. 

That’s why I created our signature 4-step system and this course. I’ve taught it in over 100 physical workshops around the world and to over 4,500 students online.

Are you next?

Thao. x

Thao 3

PAY ONCE FOR LIFETIME ACCESS

What makes BCM

different?

LIFETIME ACCESS

Get access to the course materials for LIFE!

We don’t believe in time restrictions here as we want you to learn and find success at your own pace. The lifetime access also gives you access to updates and any new bonuses we may add in the future FREE OF CHARGE.

LIFETIME SUPPORT

Taking an online course doesn’t mean you have to do it on your own. You have direct access to me (Thao) for life, meaning you can ask questions at any point and I will answer you.

You also have access to our supportive student community which comprises of thousands of like-minded cake makers from all over the world. 

My cakes used to be delicious but ugly as sin – now I can make gorgeous cakes! 

Jacquelyn Kyle

blue cake with pink drip
Two tier concrete cake with purple orchids

Hear from a happy mama 👇

Hear from a happy hobbyist 👇

Hear from a happy side hustler 👇

Hear from a happy cake biz owner 👇

For the first 4 months of 2020, we donated $17,000 AUD to organisations that helped, and continue to help, those affected by the devastating bushfires that ravaged Australia:

Foodbank NSW – $4316

Wildlife Victoria – $4317

Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal – $4316

National Bushfire Disaster Appeal – $2025

Vets for Compassion – $450

Foodbank Victoria – $1575

Between May 2020 and August 2021, we donated all proceeds to Foodbank Victoria who are doing incredible work to help with the COVID-19 Food Crisis.  To date (end of August 2021) we have donated a total of  $7251.00 to Foodbank Victoria. 

You can read more about the amazing work they’re doing here: Foodbank Victoria.

THANK YOU!!

From October 2021, donations will also be made to Impact For Women, who are making a difference for women and children escaping extreme violence at home.

Impact For Women – $1587.55

Vinnies Flood Appeal – $777

Foodbank QLD – $663

Foodbank Victoria – $2506